Destiny 2: The Best Expansions to Buy

The Destiny 2 universe has grown large with numerous expansions, but these are the best ones to buy.

Destiny 2 The Best Expansions to Buy

Destiny 2 releases yearly content updates called Expansions, which contain four three-month seasons containing additional content, stories, and activities. Multiple expansions unlock new subclasses, zones, and exotic weapons to achieve any power fantasy you want. Our goal is to give you the best expansions and bundles to buy to make sure you can complete all the best available content in the game.

Which Destiny 2 Expansion Should You Buy

The best expansions in Destiny 2 to buy are the Legacy Collection, Lightfall, and the Armory Collection. These contain everything currently available in the game, giving you access to hundreds of hours of content and allowing you to keep up with veteran players.

Here are the best expansions you should get in Destiny 2:

  1. Legacy Collection: Contains multiple campaigns into one large package with all the associated content.
  2. Lightfall: Gain access to a raid, a new patrol zone, and the latest subclass Strand
  3. Armory Collection: Unlocks two dungeons, a raid, and multiple exotic weapons.

3. Armory Collection

The Armory Collection contains both the 30th Anniversary and the Forsaken Pack, unlocking access to two dungeons, a raid, and multiple exotic weapons.

Destiny 2 Armory Collection

Armory Collection expansion details:

The Destiny 2 Armory Collection contains the 30th Anniversary Pack and the Forsaken Pack. The 30th Anniversary was released in 2021 following the announcement of the delay of the Witch Queen expansion. The pack unlocks the Gtasp of Avarice dungeon containing the Gjallarhorn exotic rocket launcher and additional cosmetics from the Dares of Eternity. Also, the Forsaken Pack consolidates everything not removed from the game with the Forsaken campaign. The Last Wish raid and Shattered Throne dungeon, as well as the ability to use all of the exotics from that campaign, are contained within the pack. While this does allow for a lot of additional content and weapons, this is older content and can be outdated or less rewarding to complete now.


2. Lightfall

The Lightfall Expansion contains a new planet, patrol zone, raid, and the newest subclass Strand.

Destiny 2 Lightfall

Lightfall expansion details:

  • Neomuna Patrol Zone
  • The Root of Nightmares Raid
  • Strand Subclass
  • Price: $49.99 (£39.99, €45.99)

The Destiny 2 Lightfall expansion was released at the beginning of 2023, providing a great stepping point to lead into the finale of the Light and Dark saga next year, the Final Shape. With a new patrol zone on Neptune, we discover a sect of humans has been surviving mostly undetected for years. The Root of Nightmares raid pits us against another disciple of the Witness, Nezaraec, and unlocks one of the strongest raid exotics ever released, Conditional Finality. Also, we gain access to the newest subclass in Destiny 2, Strand. A green-colored darkness subclass that allows for high-flying maneuverability and crazy add control. While Lightfall provides us access to a lot of the newest content in the game, its campaign was poorly received and can feel lackluster compared to other campaigns.


1. Legacy Collection

The Legacy Collection contains everything from The Witch Queen, Beyond Light, and Shadowkeep, including multiple raids, campaigns, planets, and many weapons.

Destiny 2 Legacy Collection

Legacy Collection details:

The Destiny 2 Legacy Collection contains the remaining campaigns still in the game leading up to Lightfall. You can access the Witch Queen, Beyond Light, and Shadowkeep campaigns within the collection. You gain access to three different raids, Vow of Disciple, Deep Stone Crypt, Shadowkeep, and all of the weapons and exotics that come with them. Furthermore, there are multiple patrol zones, planets, and all of the weapons, exotics, and armor associated with them. With Beyond Light, we access the fourth subclass, Stasis, which gives way to every winter lover’s dreams. Consequently, this pack contains a significant amount of content, keeping even the most avid gamer occupied for hours. With nearly everything you need to catch up to current players, this expansion allows for even the newest player to be as equipped as veteran players.


The Final Shape Expansion

Releasing next year, The Destiny 2 Final Shape is the final expansion in the Light and Darkness Saga. You can pre-order the expansion for early access to the Tessalation exotic fusion rifle, but the location and story content won’t be available until the expansion releases.

Looking For More About Destiny 2?

Thank you for reading Destiny 2: The Best Expansions to Buy Guide. We provide the latest news and create guides for Destiny 2. Also, watch me play games on Twitch or visit my YouTube channel!