Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Volume 1 Released

The beloved Metal Gear Solid franchise released the first volume of their Master Collection today on multiple platforms.

Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Volume 1
Image Credit Konami

Metal Gear Solid Released Master Collection Volume 1

On October 24, 2023, Konami released the 1st Volume of its Metal Gear Solid Master Collection. It is releasing on multiple platforms including:

  • Nintendo Switch
  • PlayStation 5
  • PlayStation 4
  • XBox Series X | S
  • Steam

Downable versions for every platform are available. Physical versions of the Master Collection are only available on the Switch, PS5, and XBox Series X|S.

What Titles Are Included in the Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Volume 1

The First Volume of the Metal Gear Solid Master Collection includes several of the original titles in the franchise including:

  • Metal Gear
  • Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake
  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

Five classic titles are included with this collection. Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3 are both the HD Remaster Collection versions of the game. There is also a lot of bonus content included with the collection;

  • Metal Gear (NES/FC version)
  • Snake’s Revenge
  • Metal Gear Solid: Digital Graphic Novel
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Digital Graphic Novel
  • Metal Gear Solid: Digital Soundtrack

This is an astounding amount of content. The collection has 7 classic titles to play, 2 graphic novels, and a soundtrack to boot. You can purchase the collection here on the platform of your choice.

What is Metal Gear Solid?

The Metal Gear franchise follows the adventures of Snake, a special operator of a secret military organization. For the most part, players will control Snake (and various other characters) in a stealth combat style of game that honestly created a genre all on its own. The story takes several paths each with varying and shocking turn of events rife with friendship, action, and betrayal. Not to mention, the titular Metal Gears are highly advanced bipedal tanks that can decimate modern military forces, and it is the protagonist mission to stop them. Gameplay elements are often integrated into the story in weird and surprising ways in this franchise.

Everything started when Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 were both initially released on the Japanese MXS2 platform, with the 1st game being ported (with several story and gameplay changes) to the Nintendo Famicom and NES systems. They are the birth of the franchise and the classic stealth gameplay that has come to be expected in the series.

Metal Gear Solid was first released on Sony’s PlayStation later. This brought the franchise into the 3D space and moreover popularized it for western audiences. Finally Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3 initially released on the PlayStation 2 and expanded greatly on franchise lore and backstory. These 2 games even deviated from the other games in that the main playable character was in fact not Solid Snake, but new (and sometimes returning) characters to the franchise.

At this point, if you are confused, don’t worry. Metal Gear Solid has lore that makes the Kingdom Hearts franchise look like its easy to make sense of. Honestly though, that is part of its charm. In conclusion, the Metal Gear Solid Master Collection is definitely worth a look.

Looking For More?

Thank you for reading the Metal Gear Solid Master Collection Volume 1 Released news article. We provide the latest news and create guides for Baldur’s Gate 3, Destiny 2, Starfield, and more. Also, watch me play games on Twitch or visit my YouTube channel!